Five Trinity Men's Basketball Players Earn NABC Academic Honors

Five Trinity Men's Basketball Players Earn NABC Academic Honors

San Antonio - Five members of the Trinity men's basketball team received 2018-19 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court accolades.

Recent graduates Danny Rivara, Matthew Colliflower, and Taylor Kim made the NABC Honors Court for the second year in a row, and they were joined by their teammates  Stephen Molina and Lucas Oldham.

In order to be eligible for the Honors Court a player must be a junior or senior and amassed a grade point average of 3.2 or higher.

Rivara received a Bachelor of Science degree last May in business analytics. He was elected to the All-Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Third Team, marking the third time he was awarded all-conference honors. Rivara also was the recipient of the SCAC Elite 19 award, presented to a student-athlete with the highest GPA among All-SCAC honorees.

Rivara played in 18 games and was the Tigers top scorer, averaging 14.2 points per contest. He averaged 6.0 rebounds and shot 48.2% from the field, while chalking up 18 steals and 19 blocked shots.

Colliflower graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in mathematics and made the All-SCAC Honorable Mention Team. He shot 53.5% from the field, averaged 5.4 points and 3.7 rebounds per game, while accounting for 29 assists. Kim earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in communication and was elected to the All-SCAC Honorable Mention Team. Molina is an accounting major and Oldham majors in finance.

The Tigers earlier received the NABC Team Academic Excellence Award, presented to programs with a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Trinity garnered the honor for the seventh consecutive year, dating back to the 2012-13 season when the NABC initiated the award.

Led by 20th-year Head Coach Pat Cunningham, the Tigers entered the SCAC Tournament in Seguin, Texas, as the sixth-seeded team. Trinity defeated third-seed Centenary (LA) College in the quarterfinals, and then was edged by the second-seeded host Texas Lutheran University in the semifinals.